Recoil PCK8 Review: 8 AWG OFC Amplifier Wiring Kit and Its Fuse Question
The Recoil PCK8 is an 8 AWG amplifier wiring kit whose power, ground, RCA, remote and speaker wire Recoil describes as oxygen-free copper (OFC), supplied with a brass Mini-ANL fuse holder and 17 ft (about 5.2 m) of power wire. Its Indian MRP is ₹12,000, against ₹6,300 for the 4 AWG CCA Recoil RCK4 kit. It suits a single-amplifier install where the amplifier's manual asks for 8 AWG and you want copper conductors throughout. The kit is on our Recoil PCK8 product page.

Quick summary
Recoil describes the power, ground, RCA, remote and speaker wire as OFC, and its US page says the wire is not copper-clad aluminium.
Our listing, Recoil's main-site feature list and its US page give an 80 A fuse; a paragraph on the main-site page says 60 A. Read the rating on the fuse in your box.
Recoil publishes no amplifier-power or current rating for the kit, so take the wire gauge and fuse size from your amplifier's manual.
We found no owner or reviewer write-ups to report, and Recoil's own pages show no reviews.
Recoil PCK8 specifications
Specification | Recoil PCK8 | Recoil RCK4, for comparison |
|---|---|---|
Power wire | 8 AWG OFC, red, 17 ft (about 5.2 m), ring terminal, 6 ft nylon braided tubing | 4 AWG CCA, frosted blue, 17 ft, ring terminal |
Ground wire | 8 AWG OFC, black, 3 ft (about 0.9 m), ring terminal | 4 AWG CCA, frosted black, 3 ft, ring terminal |
RCA cable | 2-channel OFC, dual twisted pair, 17 ft, satin chrome tips | 2-channel OFC, helical twisted, 17 ft |
Remote turn-on wire | 18 AWG OFC, 20 ft (about 6.1 m) | 18 AWG, 17 ft; material not stated |
Speaker wire | 16 AWG OFC, red/black, 30 ft (about 9.1 m) | 16 AWG, 25 ft; material not stated |
Fuse holder and fuse | Brass Mini-ANL holder, 80 A Mini-ANL fuse (one Recoil paragraph says 60 A) | ANL/Mini-ANL holder, 120 A ANL fuse |
Fittings | Firewall grommet, spade, speaker and butt terminals, ten zip ties, M6 screw and washer | Firewall grommet, ring, spade and butt terminals, ten zip ties |
Weight | 1.8 kg (3.97 lb) | 1.4 kg (3.09 lb) |
Amplifier power or current rating | Not published | Not published |
India MRP | ₹12,000 | ₹6,300 |
The PCK8 figures come from our listing, which agrees with Recoil's PCK8 page on its main site on lengths, wire and fittings. Recoil's US store page for the PCK8 gives only the RCA cable and tubing lengths, and no weight. Both pages are promotional, and Recoil's metric lengths run slightly above exact conversions, so the metric values here are our own.
OFC wire and 8 AWG: what Recoil says and what it leaves out
Every Recoil page we read for this kit names OFC. The US page says the power, ground, RCA and speaker wire are OFC, not copper-clad aluminium, and the main-site page and our listing add the remote wire. At a given gauge, copper resists current less than CCA, though Recoil prints no resistance figure for either of its kits.
Recoil calls the wire true-spec 8 gauge, which in car audio means it is meant to match its stated gauge, but publishes no exact strand count or current rating to check that against. Its US page describes the kit as being for mid-power setups, while the main-site page says the fuse suits high-powered systems; neither gives a number. If your amplifier's manual asks for 4 AWG or heavier, or for a fuse above 80 A, this kit is too thin and a 4 AWG kit or spool is the place to look.
The fuse figure: 80 A or 60 A
Our listing gives a brass Mini-ANL fuse holder with an 80 A Mini-ANL fuse, and so do the feature list on Recoil's main-site page and its US page. A description paragraph on the same main-site page mentions a 60 A Mini-ANL fuse instead. Nothing on either page explains the gap, so treat 80 A as the listed figure and read the rating stamped on the fuse that arrives.
A Mini-ANL fuse is smaller than an ANL, so a replacement for this holder must be a Mini-ANL of the right rating. Mount the holder near the battery and leave the fuse out until every other connection is made.
Braided tubing, terminals and the rest of the box
The power wire carries a ring terminal and 6 ft (about 1.8 m) of nylon braided tubing, roughly a third of the 17 ft run, which Recoil says protects it from heat and chafing. The ground wire has its own ring terminal. The fittings include a rubber firewall grommet, two 8 AWG spade terminals (nickel-plated, with red and black boots), five 16 AWG spade terminals, four 16 AWG speaker terminals, two 18 AWG butt connectors, ten 6 in (about 15 cm) zip ties and an M6 screw with washer. The RCA cable has satin chrome tips and a black nylon loom.
What owners and reviewers say about the Recoil PCK8
We looked for owner and reviewer feedback in October 2026 and found nothing we could read for the PCK8. Recoil's main-site page shows Reviews (0) and its US page shows no reviews. Our tools could not read Amazon, Walmart or Reddit, and forum and retailer search pages did not load, so feedback may exist that we could not see.
Recoil PCK8 or the RCK4?
The PCK8's MRP is ₹5,700 above the RCK4's ₹6,300, and it is the kit with OFC named for every cable, plus 20 ft of remote wire and 30 ft of speaker wire against the RCK4's 17 ft and 25 ft.
Neither kit wins on every point. The RCK4's power and ground conductors are thicker but CCA, and the PCK8's are thinner but copper. Recoil publishes a current rating for neither, so we cannot say which carries more, and your amplifier's manual should settle the gauge. For a longer 8 AWG OFC run, we list Recoil's 8 AWG OFC power wire on a spool.
Who should buy it, and who shouldn't
Buy the PCK8 if you are fitting one amplifier whose manual asks for 8 AWG and a fuse of 80 A or less, want OFC named for every cable in the kit, and find 17 ft long enough. Our guide to the need for an amplifier in car sound systems helps if you are still choosing the amplifier.
Look elsewhere if your amplifier asks for 4 AWG or heavier wire or a bigger fuse, or if you would rather take the RCK4's lower MRP and accept CCA. A second amplifier needs a distribution block, and the Recoil S-MPG4 distribution block lists inputs for 0, 2 and 4 AWG wire, which leaves out 8 AWG, so an 8 AWG feed would sit outside its listed range.
Installation notes for Indian cars
Route the power wire away from the exhaust and moving parts, and use the grommet where it crosses the firewall. Dust, heat and rough roads are hard on cable runs, so tie the cable down at regular intervals and put the braided tubing over the stretch most exposed to rubbing. Bolt the 3 ft ground to bare metal close to the amplifier. VA3 Car Studio in Ghaziabad offers professional installation.
Price and where to buy
The Recoil PCK8 carries an India MRP of ₹12,000. We often sell below MRP, so check today's price on the Recoil PCK8 product page. Our listing describes it as a genuine Recoil product.
The bottom line
The PCK8 is an 8 AWG kit with OFC named throughout, an 80 A fuse by our listing and a fuse conflict inside Recoil's own page. Pair it with one amplifier whose manual agrees with 8 AWG and 80 A, read the rating on the fuse you receive, and choose a 4 AWG kit if the manual asks for more.
Recoil PCK8 FAQ
Is the Recoil PCK8 OFC or CCA?
OFC. Recoil's US page says the power, ground, RCA and speaker wire are OFC, not copper-clad aluminium, and Recoil's main-site page and our listing name OFC for the remote wire too.
What fuse does the PCK8 include?
A brass Mini-ANL fuse holder with an 80 A Mini-ANL fuse, according to our listing and Recoil's feature list and US page. One paragraph on Recoil's main-site page says 60 A, so check the rating on the fuse you receive.
How long are the PCK8's cables?
The kit has 17 ft (about 5.2 m) of power wire, 3 ft (about 0.9 m) of ground wire, a 17 ft RCA cable, 20 ft (about 6.1 m) of remote wire and 30 ft (about 9.1 m) of speaker wire.
Is the PCK8 enough for my amplifier?
Recoil publishes no current or amplifier-power rating for it, and its US page calls it a kit for mid-power setups. Take the gauge and fuse size from your amplifier's manual, and choose a heavier kit if it asks for 4 AWG or a fuse above 80 A.



Comments